Know-how

We care for our vines throughout the year by carrying out a variety of work in the vineyards, and it is Vincent who is responsible for this:

From December to March
Pruning:

Once the leaves have fallen the pruning can start. The method used in Chablis is the double guyot. This work consists of cutting the branches of the vines so that only two are left; this helps to control regulate and improve the vegetation when the vine fruits again. At the Domaine we leave two main canes with 6 buds, and one secondary cane with two buds.

In April
The tying down:

This technique consists of bending and attaching the cane to the lower training wire. This work slows the circulation of the sap and consequently diminishes the vigour of the plant, whilst improving fruiting.

In June
The tying up:

This entails placing the new branches of the vines between the two iron wires in the middle of the training system. We affect 3 or 4 passes to optimize the spread of the vegetation to ensure good maturity of the grapes by exposing them to the sun, whilst also ensuring good aeration to make sure the leaves and grapes are less susceptible to cryptogrammic diseases (mildew, odium, botrytis).

In July
The trimming:

This work helps to cut back the extremities of the new branches which will continue to grow, thus depriving the grapes of important nutrients. At the Domaine, we use a tractor equipped with horizontal and vertical motorized trimmers.

September/October
Harvest:

The harvesting period covers the end of September and the start of October, once the grapes have attained the desired maturity and sugar levels. The harvest is mechanical. If the quality of the wine depends on the terroir, it also depends on the quality of the maturity.

Vinification:

As soon as it arrives at the Domaine the harvest is put in pneumatic presses. The juice obtained is then put into inox tanks that are thermo-regulated. From this point on the alcoholic fermentation can start and it takes place over 2 weeks, at a temperature of between 15°C and 18°C. During the fermentation yeast turns the grape sugars into alcohol.

Once this fermentation has completely finished the malolactic fermentation can start: lactic bacteria transform the malic acid present in the wine into lactic acid. This helps to de-acidify and stabilize the wine.

Then the wines are aged either in tank, or in the case of the Grand Cru Bougros, in oak barrels. The time varies according to the appellations and the organoleptic characteristics desired.

DOMAINE DU COLOMBIER
Guy MOTHE et ses fils
Vigneron Indépendant

Domaine du Colombier - 42 grand Rue 89800 Fontenay-Près-Chablis


Legal notice - Creation Direct@Web

The abuse of alcohol is dangerous for your health, consume with moderation

Le savoir-faire

Nous entretenons toute l’année nos vignes en effectuant différents travaux et c'est Vincent qui en assure la responsabilité:

De décembre à mars
La taille :

Dès la tombée des feuilles, la taille peut commencer. La taille utilisée dans le chablisien est la taille guyot double. Ce travail consiste à couper les branches de la vigne et de n'en laisser que deux afin de diriger, de régulariser et d'améliorer la végétation ainsi que la fructification de la vigne. Au domaine nous laissons 2 baguettes de 6 yeux plus 1 courson à 2 yeux.

En avril
Le baissage :

Cette technique consiste à plier et accrocher la baguette au fil de fer inférieur. Ce travail freine la circulation de la sève et par conséquent diminue la vigueur de la plante tout en augmentant la fructification.

En juin
Le relevage :

Il consiste à placer les nouvelles branches de vignes entre le double fil de fer tendu au milieu du palissage. Nous effectuons 3 à 4 passages afin d'optimiser l'étalement de la végétation gage d'une bonne maturité des raisins en les placant au soleil mais aussi une bonne aération afin que le feuillage et les raisins soit moins sensibles aux maladies cryptogamiques (Mildiou, oïdium, botrytis) .

En juillet
Le rognage :

Celui-ci consiste à tailler l’extrémité des rameaux qui ne cessent de pousser et qui privent le raisin d’une bonne partie des matières nutritives. Au domaine, il se fait à l’aide d’un tracteur équipé de rogneuses horizontales et verticales motorisées.

Septembre/Octobre
Les vendanges :

La période des vendanges se situe fin septembre, début octobre, quand le raisin a atteint le degré de maturité désiré. La vendange s’effectue mécaniquement. Si la qualité du vin dépend du terroir, elle dépend aussi de la qualité de la maturité.

La vinification :

Dès son arrivée au domaine, la vendange est envoyée dans les pressoirs pneumatiques. Le jus obtenu est ensuite réparti dans des cuves inox thermo-régulées. A partir de ce moment, la fermentation alcoolique peut commencer et se déroule sur 2 semaines à une température comprise entre 15°C et 18°C. Au cours de cette fermentation, les levures transforment le sucre du raisin en alcool.

Une fois cette fermentation complètement aboutie, la fermentation malolactique se déclenche : des bactéries lactiques transforment l’acide malique présent dans le vin, en acide lactique. Ainsi, elles désacidifient et stabilisent le vin.

Ensuite, l’élevage des vins commence soit en cuve, soit en fût de chêne uniquement pour le grand cru Bougros. Cette période varie selon les appellations et les caractéristiques organoleptiques recherchées.

DOMAINE DU COLOMBIER
Guy MOTHE et ses fils
Vigneron Indépendant

Domaine du Colombier - 42 grand Rue 89800 Fontenay-Près-Chablis


Mentions légales - Réalisation Direct@Web

L'abus d'alcool est dangereux pour la santé, consommez avec modération